Adam Rafowitz (Guitar), Etienne Monsaingeon (Piano), Rob Taylor (Doublebass), Matthieu Danesin (Drums). Invites: Josh Shape (Trumpet), Alexandre Madeline (Tenor Sax)

Founded  by French drummer Matthieu Danesin during his studies in the U.S., the Matthieu Danesin Quartet release his first 6 tracks album, recorded in Boston. With this first album, Matthieu Danesin delivers jazzy, groovy compositions with honesty, sobriety and efficiency, so is the cover of this album.

The EP starts with “Silence Speaks” quoting Ravel’s “Strings Quatuor in F Major”. The song then moves us to a pop melody and a guitar solo, echoing Alan Holdsworth’s jazz fusion. All along this record, the Matthieu Danesin Quartet play with different colors and musical styles. “S.W.B.” mix african rhythm bikutsi with the sonority of the Fender Rhodes, “Your Hand Pt.1”, that features American trumpeter Josh Shpak (Ripe), reveals the influence of the Esbjorn Svensson Trio. “Your Hand Pt.2” is definitely jazz rock oriented, or even totally rock. “Trop de silence” is a cover of French singer Mano Solo and is clearly a tribute, played in a restrained, reserved way. Last song “The Sub-Way” shows metric modulations and drum solo (as a reminder, the composer is a drummer…) and features french tenor sax Alexandre Madeline (Emyl Afrasiyab).


Order now


#JAZZ Album Review : Matthieu Danesin Quartet

Drums, News, Teaser | 0 Comments
Loading Facebook Comments ...